Get new downloads in your inbox each morning

If you want to be kept up to date on the latest downloads added to the site each day through your email, just pop your email address into our daily downloads service HERE.

"); //]]>
");

Students not interested in IT anymore

information technology students

2 replies to this topic

#1 marko

marko

Platinum Poster!

• Root Admin
  • 25,934 posts

Posted 31 October 2011 - 12:46 PM

The number of students opting to take IT courses at GCSE level has apparently almost halfed since 2006, from over 109,000 to around 61,000. An executive for the Recruitment and Employment Federation (REC) stated "If we don't act soon, we won't have any IT candidates at all" which, if I'm honest, doesn't surprise me.

As a former IT consultant I saw a worrying change brewing. Basically, I joined a company in 2001 called EDS (Electronic Data Systems) - at the time they were undoubtedly one of the largest IT companies in the world with employees in most countries and offices all across the world. Things were great back then, work was aplenty, and the rewards for doing your work well were good, well allegedly so anyway, I never saw any "rewards" but I was assured they would come.

The contract I worked on was swamped with contractors who were clawing in something silly like 40 per hour, then a few years later they were brought down to half that amount and a few years later things became even tighter. As with all relatively new niches, the IT industry had saw it's peak as more and more people flocked to it and so the supply outweighed the demand.